Made a lot of progress, but feel like there's so much more to go...

Discussion in 'Trading' started by trader99, Aug 19, 2018.

1. trader99

trader99

Hi All,

I feel like a few of the traders here on ET are at this stage in their development or have passed it. I am just curious how you guys dealt with it.

So, I started this thread back on Dec 5, 2016 just a few weeks before a personal family tragedy hit us.

https://www.elitetrader.com/et/threads/need-advice.304928/

Anyhow, here I am in Aug 2018. I'm a significantly BETTER trader than I was back in Dec 5, 2016. I'm actually net profitable on most of my recent trades. I've developed and expanded in several directions. I got rid(for the most part) most of bad trading habits. I practiced a lot and made significant money and progress in sim.

Now I'm making decent to great money in my REAL accounts. Catching great moves. Some with size/huge leverage across different instruments(futures & cryptos). There are days where I make more than my entire day of my consulting biz. Most recently, I made in one trade in my real account that approaches what I would make in an entire month. Now, I don't expect that to be the norm. But the possibility is out there.

More importantly, I cut cut losses faster than before. In my most recent run, my biggest winner is 10x my recent loser on actual money. I mean this is not the long-term average(yet) but just to show I have the discipline to ride winners and cut losers. It's a sign of good trading habit. I feel like there's a semblance of an edge. Cautiously optimistic.

So, this is exciting time for me! I feel like I'm at the edge of endless possibilities. I would never imagine I would be here back in 2016 or definitely not in 2001-2003(my first try/ foray into day trading & prop trading). Since 2003 I went back into corporate world, grad school, then moved up the corporate ladder, have a family, etc.