MACD History Changes

Discussion in 'Technical Analysis' started by Nowler, Aug 20, 2017.

1. Nowler

Nowler

Hello friends!

Please forgive me if this is a silly question or is in the incorrect place.
    Also, bear in mind, I am relatively new to forex trading.
    I noticed recently that the history of the MACD changes over time... As in, gives a different reading to what it indicated 20mins ago for example. Is this normal?

I thought I had noticed it change before but put it in the back of my mind because I was holding other information in my head at the time. Then it happened again...

I found this to be quite odd as during my studying I have seen people drawing lines over their MACD as some sort of analysis (I don't do this).

I did try to come up with explanations for the changes. One such explanation being that perhaps the MACD read out zoomed out and gave the impression of the history changing but this is not the case. I noticed tiny bars on the histogram disappear... And bigger histogram bars reduce in size.

Sorry if this is a stupid question but I'd really like to understand the MACD correctly. And this phenomenon is preventing me from trusting it as an indicator.
    How can I back test using the macd as an indicator if what I am using has probably changed from what it was initially indicating?

Thanks in advance folks!

2. speedo

speedo

Not certain what you are asking but the MACD measures the relationship of two moving averages over time...hence the convergance/divergance. It will change as price changes.

3. Metamega

Metamega

It's values should never change. It's calculated off previous "X number" of bars closes. If for some reason previous bars values are being changed,updated or corrected the calculations will change.

Sure your not just seeing the scale of the macd changing on the chart and not it's actual values.

4. Nowler

Nowler

I'm not sure what's happening, Sir.