Lust - Fear - Grief

Discussion in 'Psychology' started by Optionpro007, Aug 7, 2009.

1. Dear Colleagues,

I have a few reasons for starting this thread. One of them is that at this time I have nothing else to lose. I hope it helps some of you as I hope that it can also help me. I started trading full time 4 and half years ago. As everyone, I knew it was going to be tough, but I was ok with it, as I have considered myself very resilient, smart and very committed. In my wildest dreams I never thought I would do or have to do the things I have done. Too many to list.

Before I start with what I want to share with all of you, I would like to state that my failings have not been from lack of work or dedication but from not having the ability to hold on to the ideas that I have had, which in the majority of the cases have been very profitable.

I have learned a lot about myself during the last few years, including finding deeply embedded psychological aspects of my personality that have been a hindrance to my success in trading and other areas of my life. Aspects that I had not been consciously been aware of, until I got involved in trading.

Over the last years I tried everything under then sun to find exactly what has kept me from being and achieving my full potential. Specifically looking for the reasons of why I couldn’t profit from my excellent research capabilities to correctly analyze markets. As I learned more and more about psychology, I started to put the pieces together and realized that ‘hidden issues’ were keeping me from profiting and that these issues did not come from my youth or upbringing, but were completely hereditary.