Luck

Discussion in 'Trading' started by Commisso, Jan 22, 2002.

1. Commisso

Commisso Guest

I pose this question to elite;

On a MICRO level (trade to trade) is there any other determining factor other than luck involved in the outcome of a trade??????????????

PEACE and good trading,
    Commisso

murray t turtle likes this.
  2. LUCK (also known as probability) + DISCIPLINE = PROFITS

Luck is a random variable on a trade by trade basis, but discipline assembles luck into a non-random distribution over the longer run... resulting in profits.

3. oolarinm

oolarinm

On a micro level , i think it is luck. if you have a large enough sample then it should be biased luck hopefully in your favor

4. Commisso

Commisso Guest

Very well said, BUT is luck really the same as probability???

Lets suppose I take one of my set-ups and over the last 100trades, 60 of them were winners.... Does that necessarily mean that the next time I take the set-up, that particular trade has a 60% chance of going in my favor???

PEACE and good trading,
    Commisso

5. oolarinm

oolarinm

depends on how large the sample you used to test your set up initialy , and also the frequency at which your set up generates signals . ( you can use null test hypothesis or one of them to find what the appropriate sample should be. ) if you used the correct sample size to do your testing , your results in the future over the same sample size will be ~ the same all things being equal

6. Commisso

Commisso Guest

oolarinm,
    I understand that the next 100 times I take the set-up, I have a 60/40 edge...
    But do I have an edge the very next time I take the set-up???

PEACE and good trading,
    Commisso

7. oolarinm

oolarinm

NO you don't IMO " The outcome of every SINGLE trade is random " - Mark Douglas

8. m_c_a98

m_c_a98