Low volatility markets?

Discussion in 'Commodity Futures' started by saga273, Feb 26, 2008.

1. saga273

saga273

Hello everyone and thank you in advance for any information.

I just started trading futures last month and have already had an extremely expensive lesson trading wheat and getting caught limit up. I lost 40% of my account in that single trade. I am in for the long run and look forward to a career in trading but there is a fat chance of that happening if I make any more of these mistakes. I was profitable trading my sim account but have not seen that come out in my live account. I don't want to take huge risks and find myself being stopped out often. I did a search but could not find anything..

Are there any markets out there that you think a new trader could watch with low volatility? I often find I am on the right side of the trade only to get stopped out before the move.

Thanks guys,

Sam

2. Stay away from the grains if your just starting out. Especially wheat, it will pick your pocket fast if your wrong.

But if your dead set on the grains I would stick to something like corn or just stick with the mini grains.

Also emini dow and nasdaq, currency futures, short term treasuries (2 year note and eurodollar) are all good places to start imo but for now I would stay out of the grains and any physical commodity for that matter.

Good Luck Man

3. saga273

saga273

Thank you youngtrader I have been reading your posts and looking at your journal. Lot's of good info. I am getting my ass kicked here but will stick it out as this is something I am serious about. I have been looking at some of the mini's but those are highly volatile as well. Sometimes I think if I have any chance at making this money back I have to try my hand at a volatile market such as wheat. Then my rational side says you need a market with low volatility so you can come back slow and steady. What I keep finding is the current market does not know what low volatility is.