Lousy INET fills

Discussion in 'Order Execution' started by Farside, Jun 23, 2005.

1. Farside

Farside

Did anyone else get lousy fills today, either with INET or through other venues? I was getting +/- .04, .05 on BRCM, even when they were showing liquidity at the inside market. What a bunch of crap!

2. nitro

nitro

INET fills were instantenous here, but I was sending limit orders on MSFT.

nitro

3. Farside

Farside

Yeah, I've been using market orders (I should know better), but I've been getting good fills on high volume stocks like EBAY. It just seemed like my orders were being held for like 5 seconds today. Reminded me of market maker games from the past. I'm gonna start using limit orders all the time. I just thought it shouldn't be necessary in INET (I'm new to daytrading, live and learn :mad: ).

4. EricP

EricP

You might want to verify with your broker to find out if your INET orders are being externally routed. If they ARE, then even if INET does not have a posted matching order to fill your order at the inside, they will route it out to the market participants at the inside price to get you the fill. However, if your order is NOT being externally routed by INET, then they will fill the order internally against their INET book, even if this is quite a distance away from the inside market.

In summary, just check with your broker to find out if your INET limit orders are set up for external routing. If they are not set this way, then only send marketable orders to INET when they are at the inside price, otherwise, use an ECN that has external routing capability, like ARCA, etc (again, verify with your broker which ECN's have auto-routing enabled by default for their firm).

-Eric

P.S. I placed marketable orders all day long on BRCM through INET and had no problems.

5. Farside,