Lost Need Advice????

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by datstrader, Oct 1, 2008.

1. I spent 17 years in the field. I started at the Merc as a runner and worked my way up to be a very profitable pit trader. I traded for 8 years in the pit and did well. The pits dried up in 06-07 and I moved on to broker the eurodollar options. I made the move from the floor to the screen in April and lost about 6k since then(I'm guess most in fee's). I'm trading the ES and finding how hard it is to trade off the floor. I'm using charts and some indicators to try to produce profit. I'm now going on 8 months with no pay check and just about out of money to support a family of 5. What do you guys think should be my next move. I would like to try to find some honest answers... Thanks for your time and effort........

2. LEAPup

LEAPup

I understand bro. I'm a Retail Broker with a Wife, three Sons, and four dogs... Money "left our building" months ago.:(

To be candid, you probably don't want to trade must have money, as it's been my downfall in the past to do that. It's a catch 22. You have extra money, trade it, and if you're good, make a profit; don't have much left, trade it, and it goes bye bye... Trading "must have" money is a stressor. Others here might be good at trading must have $$, but I caution against it due to the psychology involved.

What did I do? I prayed for guidance, and God's favor. It happened. I went from dispair, and thinking too much inside the box (can I go to this firm, that firm, prop trade? etc.,), to real solutions.

I'm working on a project that will take me out of the retail brokerage side, and it will be great! I believe it's God's plan for me.