Lost my account

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by CollegeTrader, Sep 15, 2008.

1. Well this is my first thread on ET. Unfortunatley its under bad circumstances. Im a 19 year old trader who lost his first account today. Im considering a blown account as it now sits under 1,000. I feel as though i learned a lot this year even though i lost my account roughly a little over 10,000. This was my first year in the market as of next month and i feel as if i learned a wealth of information. The only regret i have after what i consider a large loss is not so much the monetary aspect but the fact i started to grasp the fact i could trade. I truely believe this is only a set back in my pursuance of trading. As it stands now im a sophmore in college and for the rest of 2008 im going to work save and start over again. My goal is to become a professional trader equities/ futures trader.

2. Don't sweat it homes. Its just money and from there you seem to have gained knowledge as to how to do it better next time.

Hey another grub stake together and try again.

Its the 2nd 3rd and 4th account blowups that really hurt.

3. All you gotta do is remember "preservation of capital"

Unfortunately I really didnt "get" what that meant until i had blown a few accounts. Your lesson so far as cost you 10k. My lesson cost me about 40k. Funny thing was that i heard people say "preservation of capital" all the time and i really had no idea what they were talking about or "how to preserve it" when trading (or any other investment in life) Once you get that, you dont have to worry about getting wiped out.

I think its pretty normal to drop anywhere from 30 to 100k before you realize how to make money in this game...but its still an expensive lesson.

4. Darshan

Darshan