Lost money after DTN IQFeed "Free Trial"

Discussion in 'Data Sets and Feeds' started by pragmatic-trader, May 1, 2020.

1. I signed up for a 7 day free trial with DTN IQFeed. They explicitly said it was a free trial in saved chat logs I had with my account manager at DTN. During the free trial they accidentally (by their own written admission in email) charged my credit card $444 USD, which they weren't supposed to do until after the free trial elapsed and I graduated to a paid subscription. I contacted them during the free trial and they assured me that the cost would be refunded if I decided to cancel the free trial.

Well, I cancelled the free trial about 4 days into it. After a few weeks, I got refunded the $444 USD. Except, my bank is located overseas, and through a combination of FX movements and bank FX spreads, I ended up losing about $25 USD through the process. I contacted them about this loss but so far they've refused to compensate me.

This seems at best unethical and at worst illegal. They promise a free trial in writing, request my CC, charge me accidentally (as they admit to in writing) - forcing me to pay the bank FX spread twice, then make me cover the loss.

How can I go about recouping this loss?

N.B. I think they made an unauthorized transaction under the Fair Credit Billing Act, yet they are trying to saddle me with the fees and costs.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fair_Credit_Billing_Act

Last edited: May 1, 2020
  2. volpri

volpri

They ain't gonna reimburse you. As far as they are concerned they gave back your 444.00 and they probably figure it isn’t their fault where your bank is at. And I imagine they figure you will take no legal action over such a small amount.

3. CALLumbus

CALLumbus

Change your mindset. Forget about those 25 USD and focus on important stuff. Dont waste your time and energy with these breadcrumbs. Focus on the bread, and the ham and the cheese. Thank me later.