Lost From Top

Discussion in 'Psychology' started by Bonpara, Jan 18, 2007.

1. Bonpara

Bonpara

Hey guys I’ve been Trading for about 5 months now and have a pretty descent strategy down already but am having a huge problem that I’m having issues overcoming. I come in work every day and am able to make good money ($200-500) then I always loose it all. I don’t take more risk and I don’t change the way I trade at all but I really don’t know what to do.
    This is getting so bad that I’m starting to question my career as a trader.
    Any words of wisdom would be greatly appreciated.

2. Go home after you make the easy money.
    Try it, you might like making $4k-$10k/month.
    Hmmm...$48k - $120k/year. What do you make now?

I wonder if any of you beginners have actually taken my advice when it comes to this topic. I think there's been at least 2 or 3 posts like this in the last 2 months. Just try it! You might like it.

When you start making money, then worry about optimizing your trading career.

3. Odgnut

Odgnut

I think the answer is obvious. After you make your $200-$500...quit for the day. There is no law that says a trader has to trade all day.

The market behaves differently during each part of the day....the opening is usually a lot more volatile....the middle is usually much slower...and the end of the day is kinda like the beginning but with more obvious support/resistance levels set during the day.

Figure out what kind of trader you are and what part of the day fits the best with your style of trade.

A lot of traders...myself included...only trade certain parts of the day. If you're only making money during the morning...then it only makes sense to only trade that part of the day and then quit.

good luck.

4. This sums it up pretty much. Do not over trade. That's the key.