Losses due to negative crude prices. Who's responsible?

Discussion in 'Retail Brokers' started by CALLumbus, Dec 28, 2020.

1. CALLumbus

CALLumbus

2. Overnight

Overnight

Mmm, not so sure.

There's a couple of problems with it that stick out in my mind.

A.) As a trader, I was cognizant of the issue of CL potentially going negative. AMP cannot bear the full responsibility for all the traders using their service. The standard risk-disclaimer applies. In fact, when I saw the price pegged at $0.01 on my platform, I was thinking of buying some CL. I did not however, because everything was moving too fast and I was reeling from not following my plan in the equity indices.

B.) AMP could counter-sue the CME on this for failing to maintain it's low-level trading limits, as stated on their information page on that date...$0.01 was the low limit as per the CME on 4/20. That is probably one of the reasons their platforms had that same level as the lowest on charts. I was there that day, I saw it.

C.) AMP has been through lawsuits before, and came out ahead.

It will be a headache, but AMP will get through it.

Last edited by a moderator: Dec 29, 2020
    VPhantom, They, JSOP and 4 others like this.
  3. comagnum likes this.
  4. CALLumbus

CALLumbus

What does this mean ?

5. Baron

Baron ET Founder

What a joke...

So the "class action" is a whopping three people who obviously lost their asses because they didn't know what they were doing, so now they're trying to pull the victim card and blame their losses on the broker.

This brings us to what I consider to be the #1 lesson for every person who decides to start trading:

Take 100% ownership of your actions. And I mean 100%. The consequences of your trading will always be a direct reflection of the choices that YOU MAKE.

And the same principle applies in every other aspect of life: