looking to make a career switch (from software dev), suggestions?

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by keyser1, May 20, 2007.

1. keyser1

keyser1

I'm currently a software engineer, and I'd like to make a career switch.

Just some background info; I'm 27, have an MS in comp sci from Columbia, and 5 years software dev experience...I'm pretty good at analytical tests, although its been a while since I've been in school so I'd probably have to do alot of studying to get back my forgottten probability/stats/calc knowledge...Currently work for a .net startup...

My goals for a new job:
    1. Something more quantitative/analytical
    2. Would be okay if some software dev was part of the job descrption (ie coming up with models & then coding them up)
    3. Not take a pay cut (I'm currently at 100k including bonus); or would be willing to take a small cut if there's alot more upside than sw dev.
    4. 9-10 hours/day avg. Not looking to work 8am to midnight. Would be willing to stay late for studying/classes though.

My questions:
    1. Would it be even possible to get hired (having no financial classroom/real-word experience) at this stage in my career?
    2. Are there some tests I can self-study for and take to show that my interest is serious? And if so which ones?
    3. Any specific job title recommendations to look for?
    4. Any tips on how to go about getting this job (other than looking in the paper & responding)
    5. Have any of you ever made the switch into finance after being somewhere else for x years?

2. nitro

nitro

Instead of leaving software development altogether, work for a trading firm as a software developer. You will find that most if not all of what you need to implement while there will help when you make the transition to trading.

Domain knowledge is huge, but not a must to get hired.

nitro

3. lwlee

lwlee