Looking to get into prop.

Discussion in 'Prop Firms' started by GSP, Jan 18, 2008.

1. GSP

GSP

Im looking to try trading at a prop firm. Im a recent uni grad and have bills to pay though so I need at least a minimal income.

Is there anyway to negotiate minimum wage with a lower payout say 10-20%? I just want enough to make my loan payment and some low cost rent and food.

I only have about 2k saved atm.

If this isnt possible would it be possible to work part time at a prop? Say monday - wendsday and then I could work another job thursday to saturday to keep me alive?

Thoughts?

2. rzepe5

rzepe5

probably not possible to work part time but you could consider waiting tables in the evening and on the weekends.

3. GGSAE

GGSAE

You can't trade part-time if you want to be successful, a day there a day off and you 'll be completely out of the flow of trading. You'll also find it very difficult to negotiate the kind of deal you're looking for.

You should look into getting an evening and weekend part-time job, something in service or maybe retail that will give you enough to get by. It's a tough grind, but if you're serious about trading you'll find a way.

It took me a few years before my trading income exceeded what i earned at the other jobs, a lot of guys here had to go that route.

4. GSP

GSP

I just want to add some more info.

I have traded before in the past. a few years back I ran 1k-8k. I seemed to do fairly well trading but what was killing me the most was the commissions. I mean 10-30$ per trade on $1000 trades makes it hard to make consistent profits.

I would like to join a prop firm for the networking, leverage and especially the low commissions which would allow me to employ much better and more safe strategies not worrying about huge commission charges each trade.