Looking to capture less on more volume

Discussion in 'Trading' started by TraDaToR, Apr 13, 2013.

1. TraDaToR

TraDaToR

Hello,

Is it a natural dangerous bias that profitable traders develop over the years? When you are getting accustomed to trading full time, you might be tempted to ask for more action and subsequently lose your edge...

Back in 2008, I was trading around 50-100 lots per day, on around 10-15 trades. Now I trade 250-500 on 50-80. I am doing the same kind of money...

My results are also less stable now( when you want small scalps all day, you usually get run over by a train at least once a month...). But it was 2008 and a monkey would have been able to replace me in what I was doing at the time, the markets were just too easy to scalp. Now it is much harder. The tapes have consolidated. I think I am a much better trader now.So it's hard to get a clear picture of the causes of my results.

By the way, I can't see myself waiting all day for 10 trades anymore, I 'd rather be doing something else. I don't like that thought, because it's not objective, the market doesn't care if I am bored...

Just asking if some profitable traders had this problem.

2. Nice to see you. I remember our conversations around the time of the MF Global meltdown. You may or may not be overtrading but I do not think you can use 2008 as a metric of any sort. Make your judgments on what your reason is telling you now with no reference to the '08 abberation.

3. TraDaToR

TraDaToR

Hello Swan Noir,

I haven't really quitted ET...:) ...We must be posting on different forums.

Indeed I am quite sure I would make a killing with my current strategies if you give me a 2008 environment back, but I won't ask for a new economic crisis again...:p

It's just that I feel burnt lately. Better than last year, but far from " no down week" smooth sailing...

4. tiddlywinks

tiddlywinks