Looking into a Dell for a new system...

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Hockey Trader, Apr 3, 2009.

1. Hi,

I am a beginner and want a descent setup mostly for trading. I am not a big gamer and otherwise aside from the trading, I just do some email, message board stuff, youtube, etc.

Specifically, I am looking into a Dell. I would like 3 monitors, all around 19" or so. I did a search and found quite a few people who liked the T3400 or 3500.

Would either of these be sufficient?

When ordering, what type of graphic card should I get? Would I need to buy anything extra to support the three monitors? Any specific requirements in terms of memory, processor, etc?

I guess I worry about having too much power setup into my outlet as well, but I don't know either way if that will be an issue yet. Hopefully not.

I appreciate the help

2. Kull

Kull

one monitor will do if you know what you are doing

100 monitors are worthless if you don't know what you are doing

I would bet my ass and my money, that you don't know what you are doing

3. MGB

MGB

4. Thanks, MGB...Although I think some of those are overpriced compared to what I need and in terms of my level.

5. gnome

gnome

If you can get by with only 2 monitors, virtually any computer these days will be OK.

For 3 or more monitors, or if you want something better than "cheapest budget" model, the place to start is the Dell T3400. Even if you decide to buy something else, you should compare against the T3400 for features and value.

Buy one off of the Dell Outlet site. Win XP is preferred for trading.

Quadro NVS 290 video card is plenty. You'll need an additional card for 3-4 monitors.

If you plan to run 30" monitors, you'll want the Quadro FX 570 video card.

And yes, TradingComputers is a cruel joke.

6. MGB

MGB

Agreed. They are overpriced. They've done the research on specs so I use them as a reference when putting my own computer.