Looking for Career change (Canadian)

Discussion in 'Prop Firms' started by Strahan, Apr 28, 2008.

1. Strahan

Strahan

I am a Computer Science grad, and have only recently discovered my passion for the markets. I have been teaching myself as much as humanly possible for the last 6 months and am looking to get into day trading at some point in the future.

Unfortunately, I do not have the capital to set out on my own, nor do I feel completely confident in my self-acquired knowledge. I wish to find a job which will let me learn about the markets while building my stake. I am looking for some advice.

Could any of you suggest which path would be the best for me to take right now. I am looking into trying to get into a firm like SwiftTrade and learn what I can there but I worry about how quickly it would take to start bringing in a steady paycheck. The other option would be to fund my own education and do the Canadian Securities Course for starters, while maintaining my job in IT.

The problem with remaining in IT is that my current career is in no way furthering my knowledge of what I consider a passion of mine. In fact, it gets in the way of learning at a faster pace, but it pays the bills.

Also, what are the chances (and what would be my options) for someone who does not have a degree in finance in getting a trading job at another firm (I hear SwiftTrade is easiest to get into).

P.S. I am based in Toronto.

2. A lot of individuals think painting is their long lost "passion".

Many new "artists" buy the best art material thinking it'll help them draw better.

Unfortunately for most, making good art comes down to whether you have the talent or not. Quality of material is irrelevant or secondary at best.

Even with innate talent, most of the greatest artists labored for many years before finding their stride.

Trading is an art form and most can't even begin to draw a straight line correctly.