Looking for an alternative to NinjaTrader

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by bluelou, May 5, 2010.

1. bluelou

bluelou

I've been using Ninja for about 2 years now for automated trading and I need to find an alternative solution.

Unfortunately, the product no longer meets my needs since I need to customize my tick data feed (using the IQFeed API) before it enters Ninja and Ninja won't allow this. I know this for certain since Ninja did try to accommodate me but after several emails their techs said it wasn't possible.

Sure, Ninja was never really good for autotrading but I was able to get by by using it for entries only and manually managing my stops and limits.

RightEdge looks promising and it appears to have changed quite a bit since I last looked at it 2 years ago. I'd like to hear from RightEdge users.

Here are my basic requirements:
    1) Ability to manipulate tick feed from data provider API before it enters the trading platform.

2) A platform designed for autotrading w/auto reconnect capabilities, etc. Efficient memory management when working with large amounts of tick data. Backtesting/simulation capabilities. I don't need real-time charting or manual order entry.

3) The ability to run multiple strategies concurrently. On the order of 10-20+ strategies.

4) My preference is to stay in C# but I'd consider something like R or Ruby, and/or open-source if there was a stable application out there that was well-documented and had at least a few hundred users.

BTW, I've used TradeStation and I tried OpenQuant and I'm not interested in those platforms.

Thanks in advance for your help,
    Lou

2. lou,

tradelink supports dtn.

I am not sure what you mean by manipulating the tick feed, but tradelink is open source so you can do whatever you want if you need it.

you're also able to modify the ticks as they arrive in your strategy if you needed to do that for some reason.

it records and plays back tick data at between 200-300,000 ticks/second.