Looking for a second broker for shorting-need more available stocks to short

Discussion in 'Retail Brokers' started by BENKINGSLEY, Sep 15, 2005.

1. Hello, I am new to the forum here.

I have been using TradeStation for the last 4 years. The platform/software side of things are excellent. No major complaints.

However, the brokerage side of things I have a big complaint about. Half or more of the stocks I try to short are not shortable, plus they give no indication on the platform that they are not shortable until your order is rejected.

I am keeping TS because I prefer them over any other platform. So I will trade long with them & i will trade whatever shorts are available through them.

I am looking for another broker to use as a backup to place my short trades with. I want a broker who uses a per share fee (vs. per trade), and preferably no monthly platform fee.

I used CyberTrader last year for about a year for this very reason, and was very happy with their short inventory. I didn't like their monthly platform fee (they charged $250) since I was only using thems a secondary account for shorts I couldn't trade on TS. I like their commissions. However, in the last couple of weeks I have been calling CyberTrader to ask if they have certain stocks to short & they are about as bad as TradeStation now.

I have been calling IB & ETrade to check also & they seem to have the best short inventory I can find.

Before, I open a second account I want to make sure I go with a broker that consistently has the best short inventory for day trading.

I have read through the other threads on this forum discussing this very topic. However, I am getting mixed messages on the concensus (plus some of the post are over a year old). The concensus seems to be that IB, ETrade, RedSky & Genesis are the best-with most people mentioning IB & ETrade over the rest.