Looking for a middle of the road build...

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by bobznew, Jul 31, 2012.

1. bobznew

bobznew

I am looking to build my own system that will run 3-4 monitors (1920x1080). I have never built before. I don't anticipate needing to use any other capabilities other than my trading platform (TOS) and internet browser.

I'm wanting to do the home build just as much for fulfilling a personal goal as I am for having a trading workstation. I know I could probably get a decent system at Dell Outlet, but part of the fun will be doing something all on my own.

Would love to get some feedback on recommendations for hardware, parts, etc. Thanks in advance.

2. Hardware requirements for trading are not demanding at all for all but a few traders. W7 with 4G RAM for 32-bit or 6-8GB RAM for 64-bit will be plenty.

Any new CPU will be just fine for running 3-4 monitors in a trading environment. All other new components will be fine also, except suggest getting a motherboard with 2 or more PCIEx16 slots for video cards. I like Nvidia Quadro NVS 295 video cards... Nvidia GeForce 8400s are OK too (both are fanless)... the ATI Fire Pro line has equivalent cards.

3. just21

just21

An nvidia nvs450 will give you four screens from one slot. passively cooled so noise free.

4. 2 cautions... (1) the cost of the 450, and (2) the tendency to buy a mobo with only 1, PCIEx16 slot. Not all mobos with 1 x16 slot will run a 450 (or perhaps any quad card), and mobos with only 1 x16 slot tend to be "too cheap". A mobo with 2 or more x16 slots is almost always better quality, has better features, and less restrictions from the BIOS.