Looking for a mentor.

Discussion in 'Politics' started by MrJohnGalt, Mar 26, 2004.

1. I just started trading a month ago. I have some programming background so I felt system trading the way to go and have read that most hedge fund managers are system traders. I opened up a trading account with Tradestation but I lost a lot of account trading with them.

I feel that the market is too dynamic to be modelled watching my system losing. Reading posts in different trading site, I noticed most traders use both systematic signals and discretionary feel to trade. I feel that the combination of rational dynamics and quantitative logic is the secret of success in trading.

I do not have experience in trading discretion. I have followed Woodie's CCI thread but I have came to a conclusion that CCI does not have any statistical viability but traders use the discretion to trade well.

Would anybody be generous enough to mentor me with discretionary trading? Is there a website about discretionary trading? Are there any good chatroom with good discretionary traders helping or giving explanations or his or her trades?

Thank you all, in advance.

2. MrJohnGalt, I may be able to help you. What market(s) are you planning on trading?

I can teach you how to win trading forex.

Let me know, maybe even in a PM so as not to clutter this forum.

Sam

3. Currently, I have an account with Interactive Brokers because they have low commissions and offers low cost realtime data. I have traded E-mini S&P and Nasdaq. I have read that daytrading stocks are impossible unless you go into a long-term trading so I don't have any plans. Does Interactive Broker allow forex?

4. "Does Interactive Broker allow forex?"

OANDA allows forex: A broker I'd recommend to trade currencies.

Sam

5. Have you traded E-mini products? If you have, how different is it from forex? I have read that there are currency futures market. Is it different with them?