Looking for a Mentor

Discussion in 'Hook Up' started by PittSnipe, May 27, 2016.

1. Hi folks. I'm new to trading (less than 2 months). I've done a lot of reading for a few months prior to placing my first trade, however, I can't seem to put what I've learned in those books to work when I'm looking at thinkorswim. I'm looking for someone to who wouldn't mind taking me on as an apprentice (even if it's to test your strategies under development...it'll give me exposure. lol. ) Here are some details:

1) I funded a live account with $2000 and started trading with practically no system.(mistake #1)

2) After all the reading I've done, I still don't quite understand how to develop a trading system. (entry/exit requirements). I think I need practice at executing a written trading plan with no deviations (I'm in the navy so following written plans I can do. I just don't know how to come up with one with regards to stocks). So, I need help there.

3) Like every other newbie (I think), I don't quite know how to scan for stocks that'll have a good potential to make gains in my bottom line once the market opens.

Anyways...this may seem all kinds of scattered...but the underlying point is that I'm looking for help and I'm very willing/eager to learn. Thanks in advance for your comments/critiques.

2. Whatever you do, whatever you are promised, make sure this "mentor" has solid proof of years of consistent profitable trading, else don't bite.

3. Thanks for the tip. :)

4. Handle123

Handle123

You should spend next year reading Education areas of this forum, read some of the forums of "folks" enduring much pain of learning how to trade. I will be honest, I doubt anyone would mentor you as you have no staying power, extremely undercapitalized, uneducated, not that you have to have a ton to trade.. Not many would have the patience to deal with someone not willing to put in the time to start by doing it themselves, maybe it just how I feel. 2 months is like nothing.