Looking for a job

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by tropicalknight, Jan 7, 2007.

1. I just graduated college in December and am looking for a trading job where I can learn more. Currently, my job search is not going very well, I have applied to most job listings pertaining to trading online, but to no avail. It probably has something to do with my somewhat low GPA of 3.2 but I was mostly distracted in college due to trading and my fascination with markets. For the past 1.5 years, I have read elitetrader practically everyday.

I am looking for a trading job that is mostly based on performance but not completely. I need some salary for security and complacency for my parents. I am fine with breaking myself in doing operations, but would need to move to a productive trading job within a year or two, as I would require some trading.

As far as my qualifications go: I graduated Emory University with a BA in Economics with a 3.2. My SAT was a 790 math, 700 English. I had an assistant trader internship with Susquehanna during the summer trading options. I have been in the market for over 6 years, so I have experience in both up and down markets, but much of that time was fairly inactive. My approach is fairly quantitative, believing more in what I empirically test more than what I see or what my gut tells me. However, I still think that valuing a company does require subjectivity in the non-testable longer-term variables. Unfortunately I have little computer programing experience, so creating an application from scratch through C++ would be out of my league. I can tinker with Java code on an amateurish level though. I have traded US stocks, and futures with moderate success, and I must enter trading as a career path because I am consumed by the markets.

Does the elitetrader community have any suggestions on how to improve my job search?

-Thanks
    -Curt

2. Have preexisting connections in the business.

3. sps_45

sps_45