Looking for a IB programmer (Excel)

Discussion in 'App Development' started by mskl, Mar 16, 2019.

1. mskl

mskl

Hi:

IB just came out with functionality in their latest API (975) that allows for new market scanners. Although it works in the new sample activeX spreadsheet - it isn't robust for larger data sets. I require the data in Excel.

Send me a private message if you are interested and I will send more details

thanks

2. Rame

Rame

Please share details. I am a programmer but new to this forum, No sure how to send pm

3. ZBZB

ZBZB

Search on www.upwork.com for a programmer with IB and excel experience. You will find plenty.

4. d08

d08

You'll find a lot of guys from India who say they can program anything, then will ask what IB stands for...

abnormal and nooby_mcnoob like this.
  5. ZBZB

ZBZB

Last edited: Mar 17, 2019
  6. WTF are these hourly rates. Nerds are so stupid.

7. mskl

mskl

ZBZB:

I appreciate your response. I have used upwork/freelancer many times over the years and my experience has been less than good overall. I did the search a couple days ago and found the same guy and he was honest about it saying:
    "This looks like an interesting project, but I am specializing in the python IB API and I have no experience with direct interaction with Excel, sorry."

Like do8 said - most are not honest and will tell you they can do it but you find out quickly that they have no clue.

The other option is to hire a bigger firm but the project itself is pretty small so that is why I'm trying other avenues first. Will try IB's Investors' Marketplace as well

8. d08

d08

It shouldn't be a big issue to use Python and output the results in Excel but that might not be what you need. I suppose you could just as well have a very basic GUI from which you can send the scanner queries to IB and return the results to Excel.
    I think very few work with Excel as it's a pain and the stability issues persist.

9. mskl

mskl