Looking for a good charting programe

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by hardyards, Sep 12, 2006.

1. I am looking for a good SIMPLE charting programe to run off my iq feed which I am very happy with, but not married to.

I am an ES trader intraday trader and all I require is.

1 ... simple clear charts with basic TA
    2 ... overlay of different time frames
    3 ... bid / ask volume at tic level.
    4 ... the ability to write code to programme alerts and manipulate bid/ask vol.

I do not needs, scans, back testing, spreads and all other bells & whistles that are designed to complicate my life.
    I just need to concentrate on trading.

Any ideas would be gratefully received.
    hy

2. I like Amibroker. I dont know about Bid/Ask volume but you can ask in their discussion group.

3. Investor R/T with IQ feed is my set-up and I really like it (and I have used them all). :)

Inv R/T ( www.linnsoft.com )

4. Thanks PB
    I will ask the questions with amibroker

5. Thanks 5P
    R/T looks unnecessarily complicated to me.
    Can you see a simple route through it?
    hy

6. taowave

taowave

be careful with Ami and IQ feed....There are limitations,which may not affect you.When i used Ami with IQ feed,the amount of intra day data limited your daily chart.For instance,if I could view 3 months of 15 minute bars,that was the max of daily data i could looka t simultaneously.

I personally like to look at daily and intraday at the same time,so this became an issue.The issue may be resolved

7. I had it ALL figured out in about 15 minutes.

8. JK.....LOL! :D

Took me a good two or three days to get used to it......just a little bit longer than Esignal or TS charting that I have used in the past (mainly because those were the charting programs that I was most used to). The "market delta" and "market profile" tools make any extended self-training period worth every second imo.