Long term only [2019+]

Discussion in 'Journals' started by masterm1ne, Aug 13, 2019.

1. Previous threads

I've been posting here now for almost 10 years. Short term trading has always been a mixed for me; for years I have had really good months, followed by months of losing or just breaking even. Anyway, I am of the opinion that short term day trading can only really be done by HFT, scammers such as Ross Cameron, or someone with their own algorithm. Either way, I am not in IT... maybe I'll develop my own program someday, but till then I plan on discussing my few long term ideas here. As years have taught me, I'm all about preserving money and managing risk and being very selective in my trades. Good long term trades come around once in a blue moon.

I have about 200k in cash and am a full time student working on my doctorate which is paid for. I also have a pension so I don't need money to live. I really need to buy property...

Last edited: Aug 13, 2019
    fan27 likes this.
  2. For long term trades, I consider support, resistance and trend lines on weekly, daily and 15-30-1h charts. Futures and COT are very helpful for the commodity ETFs and indices. I think buying when the market is declining is what big boys do. Recently, I have had my eye on silver, oil and the indices.

Sadly I was looking at SLV around 14.25 and just watched it as it rose to 16. Futures are currently showing solid resistance so I'm not interested anymore. See the sell off that happened today!

I managed to buy into USO at the bottom, just noticing the hard support at 10.50ish. Futures had support at 50. I have scaled out of most of it after several green days. I took a small position of 400 shares, buying on the way down. I made a measly few hundred dollars from it...

I bought into IWM this morning as well and scalped out. I really don't like buying things when they are going up...

• USO.png
      USO.png
      File size:
      29.8 KB
      Views:
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2019