Long strangled BigBand ... what next?

Discussion in 'Options' started by Threepw00d, May 3, 2007.

1. Newbie here.

I long strangled BBND (closed at 21.43 today) with ten SEPT 17.5 puts at $1.09 and ten SEPT 25 calls at $1.41 (total cost, $2500). ThinkOrSwim's theoretical price with an after-market drop of -$2.87 and assuming volatility drop of 15% is $1.04 for the puts and $0.15 for the calls.

I'm considering holding out for the stock to drop more in regular trading hours, and then take whatever profits I can out of the puts (sell at $1.29 if I can). Then I plan to dollar-cost-average the calls when they hit rock-bottom ($0.05?) and hold till things look up (maybe a month or two). Does that sound reasonable or have I shot myself in the foot with a poorly executed strangle? Any help is greatly appreciated, I'm just trying to learn.

Thanks in advance :)

2. opt789

opt789

Well let's see, you are a "newbie" and you question whether your trade was "poorly executed" so I will assume you don't know much. You bought a strangle before earnings on a stock that just started trading so you have no way to know how it usually reacts to earnings, what IV does in relation to news, and no useful data on historical volatility of the stock. I would classify that as gambling not trading/investing.

You paid 2.50 and it closed 1.875 so you lost 25% of your money in a couple days, so apparently not a very good gamble. Now you are thinking about selling the Puts for a small profit and then risk the rest of your money on way OTM Calls and hope the stock goes up even though their first earnings release was bad. At this point you need to ask yourself why you are trading options, what are your goals, risk tolerances (hint: they are way too high), etc. and what your plan is for learning a lot more about them so can avoid throwing your money away.