Long small / Short Big

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by BlueHorseshoe, Nov 4, 2003.

1. I've been buying some volatile small cap names ahead of seasonal strength in Dec/Jan & doing very well. Now with Australia raising rates and high EPS hurdles for 4Q, I'm thinking a Long small cap / Short large cap might be the best configuration as we head into January.

I've never done this before and looking for considered thoughts / suggestions on best instruments/markets for a long small / short large portfolio.

At first blush, I could continue adding select small cap names and also short large caps like MSFT, GE, GM in direct proportion. This could add the benefits of stock selection.

But if I go short YM and long a small cap index futures contract, will SPAN margining at IB provide for more efficient use of capital, i.e. less margin requirement for the total position? Can anyone recommend a preferred small cap futures contract? I would think the criteria should be that the contract is small-cap focused, reasonably liquid, and with reasonable spreads.

Also if you have experience with this strategy during previous Dec/Jan periods & wish to share your experience I would be happy to hear.

Blue

2. Ok, a bit too involved for daytraders.

Nevermind - I'll figure it out myself.

3. ktm

ktm

I'm not sure the YM will get you SPAN (and I doubt most daytraders know about SPAN, as you mentioned) but it's definitely worth pursuing.