long OTM puts at expiration - why the nasty surprise?

Discussion in 'Options' started by wmtrader, Apr 18, 2011.

1. wmtrader

wmtrader

Can someone please explain how long OTM puts get assigned at expiration? I assumed they expired worthless, but apparently not.

As a newbie I usually avoid expiration week, but I could not avoid it as I ended up with some puts in a paper trade that I could not figure how to sell (as they were worth $0). I ended up being stuck with short stock (and a big theoretical loss) I was not expecting.

Friday 15th April 2011 on QQQQ. I had the remains of a BWB where I had bought back the short position earlier when it was around $0.10.

This left:
    3 long puts at 42
    3 long puts at 52

I tried to sell them in expiration week but they were worth $0.00 and the system did seem seem not let me sell them (even when I tried selling for $0.05). I thought as they were worthless it would not matter.

Last Friday (15th April 2011) QQQQ was hovering around 56.6 so I assumed the puts being so far OTM would expire worthless. Much to my surprise today (the Monday after expiration) I find that I had been assigned 600 short QQQQ at an average price of $47. The position shows a loss of around $4900 today with QQQQ at around $55.

Can someone please tell me why the long OTM puts ended up as short stock instead of expiring worthless? QQQQ had gapped down a bit today, but that was after expiration.

Also what is the best way to handle puts worth $0.00 if in order to get rid of them in case something weird happens.

Thank goodness for paper trading!

Thanks in advance.

William

2. What paper trading system are you using? Maybe it's a "feature" (bug) of their paper trading software.

Did you use a market order? For real trades I think you should be able to notify your broker not to exercise. This usually comes into play if you are right at the money at the close.

3. MTE

MTE