LINUX & TT

Discussion in 'Trading Software' started by LincolnArmy, Jan 20, 2014.

1. Does anyone run TT on a linux platform? Can it be done?
    Are there any futures trading software that runs on linux?
    (I'm new to linux -sorry if these questions are basic/obvious).

2. GUI or CLI? I assume GUI because TT is pretty pointless without it.

Try running it in WINE. It'll be trial & error unless whatever flavor of *nix you are running is supported by TT. Between Cygwin for Windows and WINE for *nix OS you can pretty much run anything on anything these days.

What flavor of Linux are you running?

3. Thanks for replying Winston. I've got linux MINT cinamon. I've got WINE installed. To be honest I didn't understand the rest of what you said but that will be a starting point for me to work it all out.

4. For the life of me I can't understand why anyone would give an OS a name like that or why anyone on earth would install it on their machine and expect it to work.

Wine
    Cinnamon
    Mint
    Ice Cream Sandwich
    Safari

All of that tells me that stuff is trash and anyone who installs it and ends up in disaster gets what they asked for. Who are they marketing to? Tweens?

How about names which imply stable, safe, secure, reliable, efficient, etc.?

5. FXforex

FXforex

Code names for Debian's releases:

• buzz
    • rex
    • bo
    • hamm
    • slink
    • potato
    • woody
    • sarge
    • etch
    • lenny
    • squeeze
    • wheezy
    • jessie

6. I should start off by saying that I assume by "TT" you mean quotes and ladders and a graphical representation of the markets - I assume you want the charts and quotes...

GUI = Graphical User Interface
    CLI - Command Line Interface

Cygwin is the same thing as WINE. WINE provides a Windows environment within Linux and Cygwin provides a *nix environment within Windows. (Linux or UNIX and other flavors are generally written *nix since they all have a "nix" sounding suffix)