Linear regression fit of stock prices

Discussion in 'Trading' started by mililani, Jun 8, 2009.

1. mililani

mililani

Hey folks,

I'm somewhat new to technical analysis, but is there something in the standard bag of tricks that shows you if the stock price in a given time frame fits a line? Or, if it is trending upwards or downwards (the slope of the linear fitted line) ? And how closely the prices fit that trend (R squared) ? Basically, is there something that does a standard linear regression fit of stock prices in a certain time period, and show you how deviated the prices are around that line?

Thanks

2. Most standard charting packages let you draw a linear regression line through a groups of price points. If they support this they'll also let you place outer parallel lines at some distance, usually some factor of 1 standard deviation.

If you want actual mathematical functions that will return slope/intercept data on LR lines, well that's more complicated. There are packages that support this but you have to be a programmer to some degree.

3. While it is easy to perform a regression on a chart, your "typical" TA does not approach the problem with much statistical rigor. This is one reason you won't find such a function in too many TA off the shelf packages.

You might want to look into "time series" and econometrics a bit, and the notion of fitting a model to a series.

As you start to look into common TA, I think you'll find it is more of a subjective art (it is up to you to determine if that is useful; good luck).

4. Excel can do these things for you.

5. You can use excel to do linear regression for a series of prices. It will give you the R squared and the whole nine. If you are strickly looking for the trends you can use simple moving averages or EMAs to determine the overall trend. I have tried both at one time or another and did not find either overly usefully in generating a decent forcast.

6. mililani

mililani