limiting loss on a losing futures position with inter-month spread

Discussion in 'Forex' started by mgzheng, Aug 3, 2005.

1. mgzheng

mgzheng

My long position on the December 05 Yen has dropped about 2% since I opened it more than a week ago. If it doesn't come back up in August, what can I do to limit loss besides closing it right away? Can I do it an inter-month spread, say short either the September 05 or the March 06 contracts, limit my loss to the difference between the "initial spread" and the "final spread"? What would be the risk of doing that? The "final spread" becoming too big? Or execution risk where I will have trouble closing one of the positions? I'm new to this so any help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

2. Yes, to open a spread position in a further out month you will limit your loss to the difference in the spread. Of course the difference will fluctuate very slightly as one contract is likely more liquid that the other. But you will still be stuck with the loss, as one contract will gain, the other will loose. There are more commissions as well.

If it was me I would look into buying in or near the money puts or calls (depending on your position), but you will be out the premium of the options and in order to recoop the premium the futures will have to move substantially in your favor. But that is what I would do, I think that would be a better choice than an inter-month spread.

BTW If you remember me, I talked to you a month ago about some historical grain data. If you still have it, please get in touch with me.

3. The more I think about it I'd definately buy either an in the money or near the money put. At least with this you will have a chance or recooping your loss if the market moves up.

4. mgzheng

mgzheng

Hey Nick Jr, I remember you. First of all, I sent the price zip files to your excite.com email and it bounced back. What is your current email?