Level II usefulness

Discussion in 'Order Execution' started by smoss, Feb 3, 2004.

1. smoss

smoss

Is there really any usefulness in watching NASDAQ Level II screens these days? I am new to trading, and it seems that most of the prints, including big block transactions, happen on ECN's or alternate exchanges, with very little of the true volume actually being shown on the Level II screen, and, the MM's never actually show their true size, and as I understand it, trade themselves using ECN's to hide intentions. With all the games, is there any way to decipher short term momentum?

2. and your absolutely right, what is even more disturbing is the amount of front running in my opinion that is going on. Not only are many MMs getting away with it, but a fashionable thing to do these days is to have a cronie on the outside getting a heads up that somthing is for sale or bid. I heard about a guy who has a office in NYC in same building as his buddy who works at a big house and needless to say the cronie makes HUGE dough day trading

Anyone can say what they want about exchanges, I know first hand they watch for front running which is running rampant in OTC these days.

3. ChrisRT

ChrisRT

Level 2 usefulness has dwindled with the advent of SuperSOES and Decimalization a couple years ago. For me, it's nothing more than a risk analysis tool, seeing what kind of liquidity is available and how tight spreads are outside the current bid/ask.

There are times you can decipher who is doing what at what price, but it takes up so much time and mental resources for what can amount to a 5-10 cent move that I found it "wasting" my mental resources. In the late 90s, it was easier to figure out. Now, it's nothing more than a risk evaluation tool.

Chris

4. Bob111

Bob111

i rise same question couple month ago,when i was read about HIDDEN type of order, but got no answer at all. if everyone can hide his size-it make L2 useless