Let's start a tax discussion

Discussion in 'Trading' started by TheFinn, Mar 13, 2001.

1. TheFinn

TheFinn

This is my first year that I have to report my "income" (when I actually lost money) from the sale of stock (at least from trading, I sold a bunch of GE a few years back, but that's different). I got my "2000 Consolidated Forms 1099" from Datek and I sold slightly over $200K of stock last year. Of course I also BOUGHT nearly $200K of stock last year.
    My question: I am using Turbo Tax Deluxe 2000 and I am at the part where I have to type in each stock I sold, the amount of shares, etc. How do I let them know that I bought as much as I sold in 2000 and that I actually LOST money for the year (only $2K)? They want me to enter each stock individually (!) for, like, 25 trades I made. Since everyone here has to do this, and I'm sure that I'm not the only one who has never had to file for this amount of stock sale cash, let's get a discussion going. Thanks.

2. mgregor

mgregor

For $225.00, you can get a copy of GTT Trade Log software. It automatically generates a variety of reports for taxes and makes keeping track on your trades a snap.

It takes about a second to generate a complete report of all your trades for the day, week, month or year.

You can find out more at this link:

http://www.greencompany.com/GTT_TradeLog.htm

3. white17

white17