Let me know what you think of this trade idea

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by lasner, Feb 6, 2010.

1. lasner

lasner

I've been trading for close to a decade now (just futures) and have never really traded options. I've been looking for ways to add safe income to my account.....mainly to help with getting stopped out.

I just recently looked at writing small naked calls but don't like it....I think I might have stumbled across a good idea to add income and was wondering what you guys thought. Again I'm new at options.

I found this link that was kind of interesting http://www.optionfind.com/tutorial.asp

It talks about how if you write an overpriced call and buy an under priced call same month same strike price but in different similar companies you can profit.

Since I trade futures I thought it might work on Gold and the U S Dollar. They are different markets and move inversely to one another. So instead of buying an under priced call and selling an overpriced call you would buy a call and sell a put.

Using Black Scholes you can determine the fair market value of the options you are buying and writing....the difference is your profit.

Again I'm new to options and just brainstorming ideas.....let me know what you guys think.

2. nickdes

nickdes

I think, those with high powered scanners are scooping these up before we get a chance. I have got lucky, and I do say lucky a few times doing this, But that has been the exception.

3. lasner

lasner

Damn....so it's tough to do

4. "Overpriced" and "underpriced" would most likely be a myth or at best, an opinion. The market price is the correct price; if not, it will get there extremely fast. There is a lot of institutional computer power that makes sure that apparent inefficiencies are arbed away.

And what little over/underpriced aspects there are to any instrument, when considering all trading costs, it is likely not worth it.