leaving a paying job to day trade-experienced day traders please help

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by xdiesel123x, Aug 14, 2009.

1. I have been studying technicals and the markets for 6 years. I have paid for my school of trading.

I have worked at a major financial institution where the minimum comission is 100 for 4 years and so swing trading and trading in general is a waste of time unless you are trading for more than 20,000 and I do not unless for clients.

I have been practicing paper trading intra day and am very confident I can make a living.

I usually practice trading while in the middle of talking to clients or doing something and I have 1 question on that. So I am thinking I will actually do better with my only focus on trading when the time comes?

I can use the chart and the bid ask spread and action to kind of get a guage for the stocks direction

Also I have three strategies that work for me and I have been paper trading them along with postion size strategies and averaging in and out of trades. I started scalping for 10 cents and thats it but as I got comfortable I have been letting trades ride for longer .25 or .5 cents. I am also pretty good at taking losses (mostly because where I trade if the stock trades much further below or above it generally means the trade is not going to work so I look to exit immediately)

My question is that armed with a strategy and having spent time keeping records of my paper trades including commissions and having positive numbers(legit) is it possible to make decent money the first year out?

I hear about people coming out of college or with no experience losing their shirt. I just cant see this happening to me...especially because I have traded stock in my own account and others and know how to emotionally lose money...

2. DHOHHI

DHOHHI