learning to trade....

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by 7rader, Sep 2, 2009.

1. 7rader

7rader

I am still learning the ins and outs of trading, what do you feel is best way to learn, watching and a single stock every day, or watching a variety of stocks.

my goal is to learn more about support and resistance, identifying trends, and trying to identify whether the stocks are strong/weak or if there is a buyer or seller in the market.

2. 7rader

7rader

anyone?

3. 6pst6

6pst6

I would look at more than one stock. What's happen if you look at only one stock, and it flatlines for the whole day? Getting a watchlist of stocks allows for more learning opportunities (to see trends, price action once hitting S&R, etc) as long as the list isn't too big.

4. 7rader

7rader

good point. i will probably start looking at 3 different stocks in different sectors, for starters.

another question although it may seem really newbie ish. how can i define support and resistance??

i see at a lot of price points throughout the day that seem to be support or resistance, but to see the stock trade through them very easily. i understand that in an uptrend, support is stronger and in a downtrend resistance is stronger...

i am using candle stick charts, do i use support and resistance by drawing a horizintal line at the high n lows, or at the closes of the candles?

thanks

5. kxvid

kxvid

The best way to learn is to open a brokerage account and trade. There is no substitution for live trading. I watched the market for years and thought I had some things figured out. :D But then I opened an account with 5k and promptly lost about a grand.

So don't expect to make any money in your first 6 months trading, but expect to learn a lot. You will probably lose money, so I'd suggest trading small until you are ready to size up.