Learning to read Price Action with P&F Charting

Discussion in 'Strategy Building' started by HolyGrail, Mar 22, 2008.

1. I came to ET about 2 years ago with the hope of picking up enough tidbits to become a day trader when I retire. I am definitely a type A personality, and I know I will go nuts if I don't keep my mind occupied. I think trading can keep my mind sharp for many years. I have been swing trading since 1997, but I wish I knew then what I know now.

Since I own my own business I currently have the best of both worlds. I can trade much of the day without affecting my business to any great length, and I have a great income coming in whether I am successful at trading or not. I am advantaged in that I don't have the pressures to succeed other than the pressures I place on myself. I have been successfully trading futures for only 5 months so I can't say I am , or my methods are the holy grail, but I do know at least for me my trading became consistently profitable when I allowed myself to trade with, and only with P&F charts.

I've tried just about every possible way to trade, but nothing gave me any indication of potential consistency. I did notice that some of the most successful traders only needed price to make money so I finally began pursuing charting techniques that would display price in such a way the eventually I would "get it" I looked at renko charts, tic charts, candlevolume charts, three line break charts, kagi charts, and finally point and figure charts.

This journal is being written to help those that want to learn how to read price with P&F charts. It's not going to be a "hey look what I made today journal". There will be no live trades called. I don't have time to work at the office, trade, and post. I will only answer questions during lunch, if I am available and in the evening.

If there is not any interest, I will stop the journal.

2. gwac

gwac

very interested

3. I've always found P&F charts to be interesting.