Learning SCT through automation..

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by frostengine, Oct 9, 2008.

1. Background:

I have been developing automated trading systems for many years. Some have worked out great, others not so much. During this time I have attempted to learn SCT discretionary trading, however it still has not "clicked" for me. I do not know if this is due to SCT just not being a viable strategy or due to my own lack of understanding. I can see SCT has several positives such as at the very least it should help to keep you always on the right side of the market. Therefore, even if I can not be profitable in the same way Jack and Spyder can, perhaps I can use the base principals.

Goals:

I always learn best when I break things down to its smallest parts. To the level where I can automate it. Therefore, my aim in this thread will be to "break down" SCT into its smallest parts. With any luck we should be able to accomplish a few of the following.

#1 By breaking down SCT into its smallest moving parts, this thread may serve as another good "reference" for how to learn SCT.

#2 I will be using NinjaTrader for the coding. So with any luck we should be able to develop viable code snippets that can be used to annotate a lot of SCT which will make trading SCT easier for manual traders as well as helping those learning SCT to pick it up quicker.

#3 The primary and final goal I hope to accomplish will be full out automation of a profitable strategy based on SCT concepts.

I encourage all SCT experts and beginners alike to post here. Also, those of you who use NinjaTrader I am open to exchanging code snippets and coding ideas on how to accomplish building the various parts required to automate SCT.

The first piece of the puzzle to break down and explore will be the tape.

2. There seems to be a lot of information concerning how to build the tape.
    For example this Image: http://www.elitetrader.com/vb/attachment.php?s=&postid=2009629