Learning candlestick analysis

Discussion in 'Technical Analysis' started by emgineering, Feb 7, 2011.

1. Hello everyone, I'm new in the stock world and I'm trying to learn about candlestick analysis. If I'm posting in the incorrect side of the forum, sorry!!

The following is a chart for OPXA, as you can see i have marked the resistance, support, and current trend. In addition, the last two days have formed into a hanging man, and inverse hammer which would lead me to believe that this stock will be going up from now on.

I would appreciate feedback/comments/additions on this analysis, as I am new to all of this. Thanx for reading my post!

• opxa.pdf
      File size:
      21.3 KB
      Views:
  2. wrbtrader

wrbtrader

First, you must backtest this pattern in that particular price action situation as you would do anything else. Most likely your backtesting will involve manually doing such because you've merged two specific types of Japanese Candlestick patterns (identified incorrectly as explained later) with a specific type of support/resistance analysis.

My point, there's more going on in your chart as shown by you then just Japanese Candlestick Analysis. Here's an analogy...pretend you've baked a pizza with 4 ingredients and you're now asking us how good is the pizza base upon 1 or 2 specific ingredients. Thus, you could have also started a thread "Learning Support/Resistance" and mentioned nothing about the candlestick patterns on your chart. :cool:

However, I'm not saying don't merge Japanese Candlestick Analysis with other types of price action analysis. In contrast, I highly recommend such instead of making trade decisions based upon Japanese Candlestick patterns alone especially when you're new at it and having identification problems with the patterns. By the way, I say the same about support/resistance analysis...don't use it alone.