Learning a language for T4 API

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by TraDaToR, Dec 15, 2010.

1. TraDaToR

TraDaToR

Hello,

I have been using automated trading systems for 6 years, but I have never learned a real language and I would like to try next year.

I have backtested and automated a lot of strategies with TS EasyLanguage and AmiBroker AFL, and since 2 years I have been solely using Excel VBA with IB API DDE links. I am running strategies with a lot of cancel/replace and I am sure most of you consider it foolish to do it with excel. It was once quite reliable( enough for my needs ) but not anymore as there are a lot of compatibility problems with Windows 7.

So I have decided to learn a real language to be able to automate on CTS T4 with my main broker( not IB ). I have most notably the choice between VB, C# and C++ for T4 API. What would you recommend to learn? Perhaps VB would be easier as I am quite efficient in VBA and I would be able to program on IB API as well. C++ can also be used on both APIs but I think it is really hard to learn. C# would be only for T4 API.

I know it is quite a long journey to learn these languages, but I am not in a hurry( trading 100% manually since IB sent me an ultimatum for my excessive messaging ) and want to put the time and efforts. If anything I can still automate some little strategies in an afternoon with excel in the mean time.

Which would you recommend? Some books? Some general advices?

Thanks a lot for your help.

2. mi933c

mi933c

Hi, I am trying to learning Amibroker AFL right now and it is pretty slow process. What are your thoughts on this software and can you share your expereinces / results developing profitable systems? Did you stop using the software for a particular reason? Did you automate your systems?

Thanks,

3. TraDaToR

TraDaToR