Learned my weakness the hard way!

Discussion in 'Trading' started by dac8555, Oct 13, 2006.

1. dac8555

dac8555

I wanted to share an experience that may help someone.

I have been managing a small fund of family and freinds for a few years and done pretty well (32% yoy). I do it in an extremely simple and hands off way. entering positions, setting stop losses and walking away....maybe i check positions once a day.

So i took my results and presented them to a friend of mine who owns a broker dealer and asked if her wanted to start a fund. He went for it and gave a a couple million bucks to start with while we work out the "bugs" and get some clients together.

We started trading this month...in 2 weeks i lost 1.5% and have egg on my face.

WHY?

I am was using realtick...and have had lots of problems. the main think is the lack of programability and lack of GTC orders...SOOOO i had to sit and baby sit the stupid positions all day..and the intraday fluctuations drove me nuts...so i would exit positions WAY too early and second guess everything.

Where as what i have done in the past is ignore intraday fluctuations and simply check to see if any stop losses were hit.

So if it helps anyone...if you are like me and it make you nervous and doubtful of you own ability. to watch your positions go all over the place intraday....maybe try to program and walk away.

I analyzed that if i simply kept the positons i bought originally, i would have been up several percentage points in 2 weeks.

I am switching to cyber trader next week.

2. sorry to hear that.

for what's it's worth, you're not alone.

I did great last year(+25%) - my first year swing trading by placing exit orders when I entered.

The first 3 months of this year I lost 130k by going intraday and trying for every single move - I had to get it - every move - couldn't let potential profit's go!!1!!1!!!

Now my discretionary trading account is down to 6k.

Always keep in mind - it could be worse.