Learn to trade

Discussion in 'Professional Trading' started by magisana, Mar 24, 2009.

1. magisana

magisana

I am an aspiring trader and I am not getting anywhere, in fact I feel like I am going around in circles. Can anyone give me some advice... to learn to trade, once becoming educated on learning how to read charts etc does that mean that I could potentially pick any market to trade as in theory it can then be applied to any market. Also what is that best market to start in if I don't have a huge amount of capital to start with. I am interested in trading the S&P 500 Emini? Any suggestions on what I need to read and learn in order to start understanding the markets?

2. When a new trader asks me for advice about how you should move forward I’m almost invariably going to ask you three questions:
    1) Have you figured out what is the best timeframe for you to trade?
    2) Have you picked the market that best suits you?
    3) Are you prepared to take on years of learning and losses?

Your trading timeframe feeds into the choices you make regarding:
    • Market Traded
    • Instruments Traded (stocks, cash/spot, futures, options, etc.)
    • Trading Frequency
    • Market Analysis/Trade Selection Methodology
    • Risk Management Approach

Don’t trade a given market because it’s the thing to do. A lot of people ill suited to Emini trading, for example, were sucked into that market during the last decade because it was the hot market. Most of them got spit out because it wasn’t a best fit for them. Starting out trading leverage can rip through a small account in short period of time. You have to be prepared for losing more than one stake (all of accounts funds) before you get the hang of trading leverage.

Veteran traders will all tell you to be prepared for a long learning curve. I many cases longer than 5 years. Why? Because your trying to take another traders money who has already paid the price to gain there edge.