Learn to program with me...

Discussion in 'Automated Trading' started by C99, Mar 23, 2007.

1. C99

C99

So I’ve been wanting to learn how to program for a while now. I have zero experience and am having a tough time getting started. I can find beginner resources, and I can find trading resources, but not many beginner resources specifically related to trading. I also get confused because there seems to be multiple ways to go about doing many things and I have no idea which is the right course to take.

I’d like to document the path here as I go from complete and utter newb to actually programming something useful to my trading. I invite anyone who wishes to participate to join in. I’ll be using C#.NET/ SQL and I trade through IB for futures and RediPlus for stocks. Feel free to use the language and trading platform of your choice. I hope to break down the steps required to get started into little bite-size pieces and post working examples and / or code snippits. Please save any arguments about this language is better that that. If you feel this way, then play along and post the examples in the language of your choice. The more languages and platforms represented, the better this reference will be for those that follow.

Setup: I picked up an academically priced version of MS Visual Studio Pro 2005 for $140 on ebay. This includes SQL server 2005. I have installed the IB API and enabled TWS to accept DDE, ActiveX and socket connections. RediPlus also uses an ActiveX API although it is not nearly as well documented as IB’s API.

If you want to play along, you’ll need an IDE. Microsoft offers express versions of Visual Studio and SQL for free. They include everything I think you’ll need. I know there are also free Java and other language IDE’s.

Microsoft Visual Studio Express can be found here:
    http://msdn.microsoft.com/vstudio/express/