Leap put protection for covered call

Discussion in 'Options' started by ausgate, May 17, 2008.

1. ausgate

ausgate

I have been trading options on ASX for a few years, now looking a US trade that is not possible in OZ. Looking for any downsides.
    Purchase CFC @ 4.80, buy jan10 put @ 2.05, sell jun5 call @.42.
    The put should be payed for in 4-5 months leaving 13 months of call selling with no risk to original capital. Appreciate any comments.

2. 1) The biggest risk is that the stock immediately goes to zero. You'll earn some money on the long-put and the short-call only once. At that point, there won't be any call-option strike prices that have any premium remaining in them.
    2) You're better off not having the put-option. It eats up too many call-option premiums.
    3) Consider doing covered-writes with stocks that do not have the potential for bankruptcy hanging over them.
    4) Give more thought to identifying trending stocks instead of flat-liner stocks. You'll have better potential for bigger capital gains instead of collecting "small" call-option premiums.

3. MTE

MTE

What's the point of protecting a stock that is priced like an option (only 4.80). So if you want to bet on an up move just buy the stock and be ready to lose the whole 4.80 on it, period.

If you want fancy strategies then go with a "normal" priced stock.

4. You're taking on so much risk anyway, you might as well just write naked puts.

I mean, if you're going to pay $2 for a 5 strike put, then try to pick up the crumbs with covered calls every month, you're in for a rude awakening.