lean hogs VS live cattles

Discussion in 'Commodity Futures' started by seesound, Jul 2, 2005.

1. seesound

seesound

Hi everyone, I have been trading crude oil for one week and find that it doesn't fit me at this stage.

I got an intention to trade CME livestock futures but have little experience on them. Could you tell me which one has a greater volatility ( typical around how many)? And which one do you recommend for a newcomer to the future trading.

Thanks for any comments

2. mogul

mogul

i traded hogs and cattle a limited time using spreads, but the fill time for my orders killed the appetite for me...

if you're new to futures trading I would seriously recommend something that's electronic (hogs and cattle are also electronic but the volume is very low still)

3. Complete newb reply, I know nothing of these mythical spreads- Ive kept an eye on the electronic vol for cme meats, not so great, will check them again.
    You traded crude, light sweet, sep or otherwise, isnt that kind of- huge? Please excuse me if ive made a mistake with the dates, but my eod analysis showed on monday 27th june, (sep cl) , the following;
    a gap open, over any previous high-a divergent warning, on any short term indicator- and it pearced the bollinger band on the upside, same as that contract did on the 4th of april, or thereabouts, plus contracting open/closes.
    Says sell , normally- eod, perhaps 60.58 down to 58.01 or so, if you were lucky.
    But thats decent bucks, a no brainer eod- probably a simpler setup with intraday trading? I think ive missed something:( .
    Or , is this an options thing?
    With regards to volatility, can you have "how many"volatility? Im confused.]
    As for meats as a group, im thinking right now, i may have missed the best entry for a short term push up to 68.800 on the lean hoggies, similiar for live cattle- time will tell.