Large time frames...............

Discussion in 'Trading' started by Eddiefl, Oct 24, 2010.

1. Eddiefl

Eddiefl

Hey Traders,

JUst wanted to throw out some observations I have seen in my trading lately.

A little about me, I have been trading since 1999. Full time from 99-03, then swing trading for years while I had a couple businesses and then again full time from 2007 to now.

In the last 3-4 months I have slowly been transitioning my trading methodologies into longer time frames, all above 30minutes charts up to daily.

This intiative to focus more on larger time frames started when i swung some APPL in 2009 and made 70-80% returns on the little account with little or no effort. Mind you, my goal is not to trade with little or no effort, but to maximize goals and returns.

Now i know, it wont always be as easy as APPL was in 2009 bull market,(or the current appl bull run) but from my observations, my best trades have been from swings and larger time frames.

Just a quick research of methodologies from 1/1/2010 to 10/19/2010, my methodology on the NQ using 60 minute time frames traded 35 times and made considerably much more than if I had used a shorter term methodolgy, where I had 615 trades and the returns were much less than the 60minute time frame. Yes, only 10 month data means nothing, but I have seen data like this for years, and i am doing stat work this week and next.

I know the common pro-swing trades arguments, are: you dont see Tudor Jones day trading, you dont see mutual fund guys day trading, many pros graduate into larger time frames etc.....but then again there are Jim Simmons,Don MIller,Lescor,Redinkinc,Svenen etc.. types who kill it short term trading.

I am not bashing day trading or intraday scalping, ex: 3min-5min time frames, 344 ticks etc.... i have been in that time frame and one of my systems still trades 10min intraday.