Kospi + HangSeng Holy Grail?

Discussion in 'Journals' started by Sell 'em, Nov 14, 2009.

1. I've been trading for many years, and spent some time at a too big to fail bank doing fundamental analysis. As a trader I've made money, but on net have lost way more money than I care to admit.

I've finally settled on a methodology that trades Kospi options/futures and the HSI/MHI HangSeng Futures - a methodology that I'm very excited about.

I'm beginning this thread in order to help organize and flesh out my thoughts. Also to harvest thoughts/insights that other board members might bring to the discussion.

Results from last week:

Beginning capital: $3099
    # of trades: 35
    wins: 29
    losses: 6
    winning %: 83%
    Max gain: $1,351
    Max loss: $850
    Gain on the week: $3,219

So this coming week I will pursue the same strategy with beginning capital of about $6,300. I did some stupid things last week so right now I am actually expecting much better results. I should also note that my results have been very consistent, generating anywhere from 15% to 21% return on capital each day.

For example, last week's max loss of $850 was actually the last trade of the week, and wasn't Kospi or Hangseng. Instead my discipline broke down and I shorted the ES upon release of consumer sentiment numbers. Had I not put that one trade on, results would have been much better. That points to perhaps my biggest challenge right now - discipline. I've been experimenting, some might call it 'gambling', in many instruments for a long time. Hopefully some candid posts on this thread will help to embarrass me into greater discipline, knowing that I must confess breakdowns should they occur?

I'll follow this up with a quick post on my methodology.

2. Ok, a brief synopsis of my methodology.