Knight Capital? Anyone work there?

Discussion in 'Prop Firms' started by HezBallah, Nov 23, 2012.

1. So, I've been wondering about this for a while, but how do market makers like Knight determine fair value in equities? How do they decide where to bid-ask and how wide the spread should be? How do market makers decide where a price is cheap? Obviously this is pretty valuable information for any trader. Anyone have any experience on market making firms like Getco or Knight? How do they determine this?

I worked as a prop trader for 3 years whose focus was on short-term inefficiencies in equities and ETFs. I am currently trying to transition into fundamental-driven trades and longer time horizon trades. If anyone would like to discuss over PM, feel free. Thanks.

I am not asking for proprietary information, I just want an idea of how market makers do their job and determine fair value. If a price drops below this fair value, how much do market makers buy? How far away? How much?

2. Generally speaking, those firms take advantage of order-flow (bids and offers) & arbitrage opportunities. There aren't many who sit and look for new opportunities to enter positions. Most have setup their trading to take advantage of one small opportunity.

A lot of their profits comes from internal routing that comes from outside clients through ECNs and other such mechanisms. Of course, every firm is different, but generally speaking, there aren't many firms like Knight that are successful because of great strategies. It's usually because they can capitalize on some regulatory requirement or some type of arbitrage that somebody seeing that many orders coming in/out can profit off.