Knee strain

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by illiquid, Jan 18, 2007.

1. I've been running for a few years now, I took a break over the holidays and just started up again. I started getting a sore left knee afterwards, and it got to the point where I couldn't finish my usual route. It dawned on me that I might have strained it over christmas moving a very heavy (of all things) treadmill down a few flights of steps. I remember resting it on my bent knee, step by step, although I did not feel any pain during the move.

It's been about 3 weeks since then, is there anything else I can do besides rest? And for how long? Today I jogged for perhaps 3 miles before any discomfort set in. Any suggestions?

2. C'mon man, if you can jog for 3 miles before discomfort, your doing better than most.

By that , i mean me, at least.

It really is odd, the number of accidents occuring from moving, much less using exercise equipment.

Seriously, ive been stopped out for a good year from various bench press etc problems, i cant call them accidents........i couldnt even call the weights "ambitious", just not really sensible overall.

I know someone who was put out for a year from having a cheap home gym fail balance wise, doing a SEVERE injury to their hand, face etc. Nasty.

3. andread

andread

stop stressing your knee for a couple of weeks. You just make it worse. Give your knee some rest, then start slowly. At least try to run less. Some bandage could help, especially if you have problems during the day.
    If you can run for 3 miles without problems it's probably nothing, but I wouldn't mess with it.

4. If the pain persists, you might want to get an x-ray of your hip. It happened to me. Now I have two artificial hips. After two unnecessary knee surgeries, I finally found a ruemotoligist who knew what to look for.