Keeping myself honest with yen

Discussion in 'Journals' started by naz9403, Jul 5, 2006.

1. naz9403

naz9403

I have been trading forex for 3 years now and finally feel i am a profitable trader. I am making a journal to keep myself honest and to have something to do when trading is over.

Over 2 years i have lost about 2k with oanda and after my "take a break and re group" i have decided to put in $500.

*Full disclosure of account balance and gain or loss after 5pm mon-fri.*

I am trading the usd/jpy forex pair with oanda.

I trade 6am est - 12pm est

I will enter a trade no later than 12pm but i will keep a position open until 5pm at the latest.

My strategy is to catch intraday trends during the peak volume hours which are stated above.

I have no profit target, i take what the market gives. My stop loss is not finite but a max loss is 30 pips.

Today i exited a position to early and failed to re enter because i had ate some pizza last night and i will spare the rest of the story. One of my rules is not to enter a move that you missed the breakout on. So i lost a potential 60 more pips. Life goes on.

Everyday i'm going to post something i learned, so i can go back and look and maybe to help other traders.

+$35.63

Today i learned;

Eat healthy during the trading week

2. naz9403

naz9403

Hesitated on the trade today, then it broke down so i missed the move and therefore could not enter. Even though this move is pretty small and most likely will retrace a good 20 points, i have to at least get my foot in the door in order to be consistant.

Today

I learned don't be scared to put your foot in the door, you can always take it out.

Balance: $535.63

3. naz9403

naz9403

So far so good, could have been better.

I went long pre news for a loss of $52.54

I'm in short at 114.41.

So far today i learned